Nevada is known for having some of the most scenic and beautiful roadways in the country. Many people within the state really enjoy getting behind the wheel and taking in the views from inside their automobile.
While this may be enjoyable, there’s a risk involved as well. Accidents do happen, and injuries can result. No time behind the wheel of a car is totally risk-free.
If you do find yourself in a car accident, you’ll want to ensure you know the ins and outs of Nevada car insurance laws. If you’ve been injured due to another driver’s negligence, you have a right to compensation under the law.
Understanding Nevada insurance laws on this matter can help you to receive the compensation total that you deserve. Read on and we’ll walk you through what you need to know.
Nevada Is a ‘Fault’ State
States across the U.S. fall into the category of either fault or no-fault states when it comes to car insurance laws. Nevada happens to the former—a ‘fault’ state.
What does this mean? It means the person responsible for an automobile accident occurring is also responsible for the financial responsibility for the damages that result. these damages could be vehicle damage, injuries to drivers, lost wages, and so forth.
This means an injured individual would need to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company if they hoped to receive the compensation that they deserved following an accident. If they weren’t able to get the money they have a right to this way, they could bring a personal injury lawsuit forward and attempt to receive compensation from the courts.
The full burden of covering damages will be on the at-fault driver in Nevada accidents, which differs from how accident cases are handled in some other states.
Nevada Car Insurance Laws and Requirements
Will all drivers you might get into a wreck with have auto insurance? They should. The state of Nevada requires all vehicle owners to have liability auto insurance before they get on the road.
This insurance policy must meet a variety of minimum thresholds: $25,000 for bodily injury of one person, $50,000 for total bodily injury for all involved, and $20,000 for property damage from the accident.
If an accident occurs, an insurance company should be able to step in and pay for the damage that has occurred up to or past these thresholds. Higher policy limits will always help to better protect drivers in the case of a more serious accident.
If you’ve been injured and are struggling to receive compensation from an opposing driver’s insurance company, you might need to enlist legal help. Experienced attorneys like those at Sweet Lawyers can help to fight back against insurance companies and get the compensation that injured victims deserve.
Car Accidents in Nevada
It can be a huge joy to drive around the state of Nevada, but accidents are a constant threat. If you’ve been injured in an accident it’s essential that you take the time to understand Nevada car insurance laws. The above info can help.
Need more legal advice or tips? Keep scrolling our blog for more.